Skip to content
Hackney Counts — Hackney, in numbers.Local help →

Hackney, in numbers

People and living standards

Hackney council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hackney council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 184,956 in 1991 to 266,241 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hackney council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 193,068 people in 1996; 266,241 people in 2025. 37.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hackney council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991184,956
1992186,816
1993188,193
1994190,266
1995192,858
1996193,068
1997191,448
1998194,706
1999199,087
2000203,381
2001207,246
2002210,961
2003212,405
2004213,581
2005216,512
2006220,193
2007224,480
2008231,041
2009236,622
2010241,739
2011247,182
2012251,193
2013255,646
2014258,735
2015261,929
2016264,892
2017264,834
2018266,210
2019265,825
2020263,782
2021260,082
2022263,254
2023267,493
2024268,651
2025266,241
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hackney council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 46,776 people in 1996; 46,204 people in 2025. 1.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hackney council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199142,993
199244,203
199345,036
199445,919
199546,571
199646,776
199746,693
199847,350
199947,883
200047,851
200147,457
200248,616
200348,889
200448,708
200548,850
200648,860
200749,196
200849,572
200950,101
201050,855
201151,189
201252,081
201352,934
201453,209
201553,853
201654,364
201754,167
201854,067
201953,260
202051,938
202149,780
202249,024
202348,292
202447,620
202546,204
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hackney council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 125,925 people in 1996; 196,321 people in 2025. 55.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hackney council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991120,299
1992121,139
1993121,973
1994123,414
1995125,611
1996125,925
1997124,775
1998127,591
1999131,908
2000136,462
2001140,860
2002143,588
2003145,106
2004146,753
2005149,731
2006153,689
2007157,908
2008164,194
2009169,139
2010173,504
2011178,569
2012181,393
2013184,731
2014187,222
2015189,551
2016191,730
2017191,689
2018192,736
2019192,728
2020191,623
2021189,572
2022192,927
2023197,278
2024198,301
2025196,321
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hackney council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,367 people in 1996; 23,716 people in 2025. 16.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hackney council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,664
199221,474
199321,184
199420,933
199520,676
199620,367
199719,980
199819,765
199919,296
200019,068
200118,929
200218,757
200318,410
200418,120
200517,931
200617,644
200717,376
200817,275
200917,382
201017,380
201117,424
201217,719
201317,981
201418,304
201518,525
201618,798
201718,978
201819,407
201919,837
202020,221
202120,730
202221,303
202321,923
202422,730
202523,716
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 259,147 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hackney · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh26,88510.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African54,64521.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups17,4876.7%
White137,70953.1%
Other ethnic group22,4218.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 246,270 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hackney · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White134,61754.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups15,8696.4%
Asian/Asian British25,86710.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British56,85823.1%
Other ethnic group13,0595.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 202,824 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hackney · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White120,46859.4%
Mixed8,5014.2%
Asian/Asian British17,4148.6%
Black/Black British50,00924.7%
Chinese/Other6,4323.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 34.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hackney council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,388 per person in 1997; £34,929 per person in 2024. 372.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hackney council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,388
19988,056
19998,878
20009,958
200110,589
200210,898
200311,487
200412,378
200513,359
200614,597
200715,905
200816,383
200916,813
201017,425
201117,694
201218,778
201320,181
201421,390
201523,287
201624,191
201725,034
201826,567
201927,921
202027,981
202129,743
202231,717
202332,903
202434,929
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hackney council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -30.4% in 1997; 34.5% in 2024. 64.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hackney council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-30.4
1998-25.6
1999-21.5
2000-16.3
2001-14.4
2002-13.9
2003-11.9
2004-8.8
2005-5
2006-0.3
20073.6
20084
20095
20107.9
20118.6
201211.2
201315.2
201418.3
201522.4
201625.6
201727.1
201830.2
201932.5
202033.3
202136.2
202238.1
202334.6
202434.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

64.1%

21 March 2021 · Hackney council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.5%

21 March 2021 · Hackney council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.7%

21 March 2021 · Hackney council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · Hackney council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£606,000

July 2026 · Hackney council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£2,658

August 2026 · Hackney council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.