Skip to content
Hackney Counts — Hackney, in numbers.Local help →

Hackney, in numbers

Projects

Hackney council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Woodberry Down

Woodberry Down phased renewal

Replacement homes sit alongside established community facilities and wetlands access.

Phased redevelopment; fourth-phase land acquisition progressed in 2025 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hackney Council

What the source says: The council records phase-four acquisition steps in 2025 and existing public amenities. Older expected phase-three completion dates are not treated as verified handovers.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Woodberry Down →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep community benefits visible through later phases →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Colville Estate, Hoxton

Colville Estate renewal

The programme adds homes, an energy centre and community facilities.

Some phases complete; construction and repairs continuing · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hackney Council

What the source says: The official page says Bridport House is closed for repairs, phase 2C is in progress and later phases are being designed. Its expected 2027 moves are forecasts.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Colville Estate →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Resolve defects before counting homes as successful delivery →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Shoreditch Park

Britannia leisure, school and homes

The development combines sport, education and new homes.

Leisure centre open; housing construction temporarily paused · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hackney Council

What the source says: The leisure centre opened in 2021. The council says housing construction paused after its contractor entered administration and a replacement contractor is being discussed.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Britannia →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep the delivered leisure facilities accessible →

Restart Britannia housing with a credible delivery plan →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →